Kelvin celebrates big anniversary

Its graduates have turned up in every important field of endeavour. Here are a few: Duff Roblin and Stuart Garson, premiers; William John McKeag and Richard Bowles, Manitoba lieutenant governors; Janis Johnson and Campbell Haig, Canadian senators; Izzy Asper and Hartley Richardson, entrepreneurs.

Marshall McLuhan, philosopher, educator; Neil Young, musician, Shirley Tilghman, Princeton University president; Gerry James, hockey, football player; Keri-Lynn Wilson, Canadian conductor; Andrew Coyne, Postmedia columnist; Kathleen Richardson and Babs Asper, community activists; Mary Morrison, opera singer and teacher.

Kelvin Technical high school opened in 1912, an impressive presence at the corner of Academy Road and Harrow Street, its bell tower overlooking the canopy of trees westward across the city. Blessed with a strong academic education, its students would also excel in music and sports and learn tolerance, self discipline and independence, all these attributes only enhancing the reputation of Kelvin students and grads in the Winnipeg community.

In 1964, the imposing early building was replaced, and in 1995 grade 9 students began attending the school for the first time. Many generations of Winnipeg youngsters would go through its doors, and proudly celebrate its big anniversaries. This month, former Winnipeggers will be coming from as far away as Australia to celebrate its hundredth anniversary and, no doubt, buy the Kelvin 100th celebratory history book.

One hundredth anniversary celebrations begin Friday, May 25, with an open house at the school, and a chance to visit its nostalgia rooms, set up to reflect the many dec ades of learning and achievement in the school. That night at the Convention Centre there’ll be a choral concert, with musical theatre and Kelvin alumni singing Gilbert and Sullivan.

There’ll be a fun run starting at 10 a.m. Saturday, some yoga at 11 a.m. and a football game of some type. A gala dinner at Winnipeg Convention Centre starts at 6 p.m. with decade seating arranged. Roger Currie and Fiona Odlum are hosts.

Let's talk...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s